Home / MUSIC / Years & Years release new track “Shine” – ‘Communion’ out July 10th?

Years & Years release new track “Shine” – ‘Communion’ out July 10th?




May 11th, 2015 – Santa Monica, CA – Interscope Records artists?Years & Years?release their new track?”Shine“?today. Check it out?HERE. The song’s begins with driving beats, laced?with dreamy R&B harmonies that morph into a full-throttle dance number, gloriously capturing the butterflies-in-the-belly thrill of falling in love.

“The metaphor of ‘shine’ and ‘shining’ comes from the way somebody can make you feel totally brand-new and special and re-made in the light of their love, but how that can feel incredibly?unstable and overwhelming and make you want to destroy yourself,” explains vocalist Olly Alexander.

Years & Years will release their hotly anticipated debut full-length album, entitled

Communion, on July 10th?via all digital and physical partners. ?The album is available for pre-order now at?all digital retailers. Their current single “King” hit No. 1 on the U.K. Singles chart while the video has racked up almost 30 million views on Vevo. Watch it?HERE.

Fresh off a much buzzed about sold out run of U.S shows, the London-based electronic-pop trio recently made their late night television debut on?Late Night with Seth Meyers?on NBC,?followed by a performance on?Last Call with Carson Daly?which featured songs filmed during their sold out show at The Troubadour. The second episode featuring performances of “Shine”?and “Eyes Shut” is set to air May 13th?on NBC.

During SXSW the band debuted a killer performance of their hit single “King” at the 2015 mtvU Woodie Awards and won the “Artist to Watch Woodie” at the annual awards show. Years &?Years will return to the U.S. on tour this summer, dates to be announced soon.

Formed in London, Years & Years consists of bassist?Mikey Goldsworthy, keyboard player?Emre Turkmen, and vocalist?Olly Alexander. Olly joined the band after Mikey heard him?singing in the shower during a party at his house. The group signed with Polydor Records and released their?Take Shelter?EP last August. The title track climbed to No. 1 on iTunes’ UK?Singles Electronic chart. In addition to winning the?BBC Sound of 2015 Poll, the band were also short-listed for the BRITs Critics’ Choice Award.

Huffington Post, Buzzfeed, USA Today?and more tapped Years & Years for their 2015 Artists to Watch lists, with?USA Today?noting that their hook-heavy sound “taps into ’90s pop, house?music, and R&B sensibilities that could quench the same thirst for U.K. dance that Disclosure and Clean Bandit filled stateside this summer.”?The New York Times?has praised the band’s?”handful of glossy singles, featuring the stirring vocals of its frontman, Olly Alexander, set against bright synth hooks and a hefty base.”

What the press is saying about Years & Years:

“(Years & Years) handful of glossy singles, featuring the stirring vocals of its frontman, Olly Alexander, set against bright synth hooks and a hefty base.” -?The New York Times

“This electro-pop trio has all the appeal of acts like Disclosure and Chvrches, and with the charisma and allure of vocalist Olly Alexander, they will soon become party favorites.” –Huffington?Post

“These twenty-somethings are on the fast track to becoming the next big thing in POP.” -?Buzzfeed?

“The buzz around this hotly tipped British act is palpable and ‘King’ delivers on it.” -?The New York Post

Years & Years (2)

Communion Track List

1. Foundation

2. Real

3. Shine

4. Take Shelter

5. Worship

6. Eyes Shut

7. Ties

8. King

9. Desire

10. Gold

11. Without

12. Border

13. Memo

For more about Years & Years, visit: