Home / MUSIC / V V Brown Returns With ‘Samson & Delilah’ Out October 8th / “Samson” Video Reaches Over 1.5 Million Views?

V V Brown Returns With ‘Samson & Delilah’ Out October 8th / “Samson” Video Reaches Over 1.5 Million Views?

SAMSON & DELILAH (Album Art) copy

V V Brown Returns With New Album And New?Sound

Samson & Delilah?Out October 8th In The US On?YOY Records

Debut Video “Samson” Reaches Over 1.5 Million?Views

Vanessa ?V V? Brown announces her return to music with details of her forthcoming highly anticipated second studio album?Samson & Delilah, out October 8 in the US on YOY?Records. Not only is V V Brown back, but she?s added something new to her resume: she can be labeled a singer, songwriter, producer and now a record label owner.

Having already achieved over 1 million worldwide single sales of ?Shark in the Water? from her critically acclaimed debut album?Travelling Like the Light, V V has initiated a new?direction and chapter for her new album. ?She has returned with a edgier, darker sound, co-produced by Mercury Award winning producer Dave?Okumu.

There is a key moment when talking to V V Brown about her new album,?Samson & Delilah, that tells you exactly where V V is coming from, and precisely what she is intent on?achieving. The first lyric she wrote after stepping back into the studio to work on the new record sums it up. ?Take me as I am,? she sings on ?Warrior? (which appears on the deluxe?edition of the digital album); ?No one does it better / All I want to do is lie here in the sand / And learn the art of patience / The freedom to believe it / Take me as I am / My master of my?plan.? It proves a prophetic manifesto. Over the course of?Samson & Delilah?s 11 tracks, the artist once synonymous with bright colors ? and equally bright pop ? comprehensively?confounds our perceptions and expectations of her.

?Substitute for Love,? the album?s opening track, sets down a marker for what follows. V V?s extraordinarily operatic vocal is the first surprise; but so, too, is the sonic world the song?creates, where V V?s voice is just one texture among many, all working in the service of a rich and complex ? and incredibly dark?? sonic?palette. Listen to the dark-as-night electronica?of songs such as the sinister, sepulchral?”Knife”,?or the shimmering, LCD Soundsystem-like ?Faith,? or the defiant, propulsive follow-up single ?The Apple,? and you know that ?Samson?& Delilah?is the pure truth.

With the release of?Samson & Delilah?on October 8th via YOY Records, V V Brown will return to the US with new live dates this Fall.

“Samson” video


“Samson” on iTunes:?http://bit.ly/VVBrownSamson

?There is no doubt in our mind that V V?s upcoming performances will provide the perfect appetizer for the remarkable things still yet to come from the talented V V Brown.? ? ??MOBO

?If Samson is any indication of the album we can expect from her in September, I am extremely excited. Extremely.? ??Glamour

?Brown has worked with Dave Okumu and crafted a more mature electronic soul sound that suggests she’s gunning to become the new Jessie Ware.? ??Time Out

?VV Brown is back! And she has never sounded (or looked) better.? ??Company

?Samson & Delilah?LP Tracklisting

1. Substitute For Love
2. Nothing Really Matters
3. Samson
4. I Can Give You More
5. Igneous
6. Looking For Love
7. The Apple
8. Faith
9. Ghosts
10. Knife
11. Beginning

V V Brown