Home / MUSIC / Tracey Thorn Returns With “Tinsel and Lights” Out October 30?

Tracey Thorn Returns With “Tinsel and Lights” Out October 30?



On October 30,?Tracey Thorn?follows her acclaimed 2010 album?Love and Its Opposite?with a brand-new Christmas album,?Tinsel?and Lights, featuring ten seasonal cover versions, two new original tracks, and Green from Scritti Politti.

Produced by Ewan Pearson,?Tinsel and Lights?features Tracey?s famously rich vocals and contributions on guitar and piano. Her?longtime partner, Ben Watt guests on guitar and piano on several tracks. Leo Taylor (Adele, Hot Chip) plays drums, Steve Pearce ??who played on Everything But The Girl?s feted album,?Idlewild?? is on bass, while Pearson adds signature synths and electronics.?Three tracks include orchestral arrangements by Nick Ingman.

Tracey says, ?I?ve always wanted to make a Christmas record. Every year, when the Christmas albums start appearing in?November, I get jealous and wish I had one coming out. Last year, I made a resolution to get recording in January to be ready for?the following Christmas. And so that?s just what I did. They?re not all strictly Christmas songs, but if they mentioned winter or snow?or even just being cold, that was good enough for me.?

Tinsel and Lights?will be released on CD, LP and digital by Merge Records in North America and Strange Feeling in the UK/EU. The LP?version will include Tracey?s rendition of ?25th December? originally written and sung by Ben Watt on Everything But The Girl?s?1994 album?Amplified Heart.

Track listing:
1. Joy (written by Tracey Thorn)
2. Hard Candy Christmas (originally performed by Dolly Parton)
3. Like a Snowman (written by Stephin Merritt)
4. Maybe This Christmas (written by Ron Sexsmith)
5. In the Cold, Cold Night (written by Jack White)
6. Snow (written by Randy Newman)
7. Snow in Sun (written by Green Gartside of Scritti Politti)
8. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (holiday classic)
9. Tinsel and Lights (written by Tracey Thorn)
10. River (written by Joni Mitchell)
11. Taking Down the Tree (feat. Green Gartside) (written by Low)
12. Sister Winter (written by Sufjan Stevens)
Bonus LP track: 25th December (written and originally sung by Ben Watt)