Home / FEATURED / Television Academy Announces Nominees for 66th Emmy Awards

Television Academy Announces Nominees for 66th Emmy Awards


For Programs Airing June 1, 2013 ? May 31, 2014

Thursday, July 10 ? Nominations for the 66th Emmy? Awards, covering the eligibility period of June 1, 2013 through May 31, 2014, were announced today by the Television Academy from the Leonard H. Goldenson Theatre in the NoHo Arts District, California. Television Academy Chairman and CEO Bruce Rosenblum presided over the nominations along with Carson Daly from NBC?s Today Show and The Voice and Mindy Kaling from FOX?s The Mindy Project.

For the first time, the Television Academy implemented online voting for the nominations phase of the Emmy Awards. The Academy?s membership embraced this change with a meaningful increase in voter participation, nominating programs and performers from broadcast, cable, premium cable and digital
outlets. These nominations underscore the membership?s dedication to recognizing quality content regardless of platform.

This year?s Drama and Comedy Series nominees include three breakout series in their freshman year: Orange Is The New Black and Silicon Valley in the Outstanding Comedy Series category and True Detective in the Outstanding Drama Series category.

While Game of Thrones was the most nominated program with with 19 nominations, celebrated miniseries Fargo and American Horror Story: Coven received 18 nominations and 17 nominations respectively. Other programs receiving ten or more nominations include Breaking Bad, The Normal Heart, Saturday Night Live, House of Cards, Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey, Downton Abbey, Orange Is The New Black, Sherlock: His Last Vow (Masterpiece), True Detective, Modern Family and The Voice.

This year?s Outstanding Drama Series performer categories (lead and supporting) feature several new yet familiar names who gave critically-acclaimed performances including: Lizzy Caplan in Masters of Sex, Woody Harrelson in True Detective, Lena Headey in Game of Thrones, Matthew McConaughey in True Detective and Jon Voight in Ray Donovan.

Similarly, the Outstanding Comedy Series performer categories (lead and supporting) have many new nominees from both first season and veteran series including: Fred Armisen in Portlandia, Andre Braugher in Brooklyn Nine-Nine, Ricky Gervais in Derek, Allison Janney in Mom, William H. Macy in Shameless, Kate McKinnon in Saturday Night Live, as well as Taylor Schilling and Kate Mulgrew in Orange Is The New Black.

Additionally, the many Drama and Comedy series receiving multiple performer nominations speak to excellence in network, cable and digital programming. They include The Big Bang Theory, Breaking Bad, Downton Abbey, Game of Thrones, Girls, The Good Wife, Homeland, House of Cards, Mad Men, Masters?of Sex, Modern Family, The Newsroom, Orange Is The New Black, Portlandia, Saturday Night Live,?Scandal, Shameless, True Detective and Veep.

This year?s performer nominations include a renowned group of actors many of whom are past Oscar nominees and winners. This includes Chiwetel Ejiofor in Dancing On The Edge, Matthew McConaughey in True Detective and Julia Roberts in The Normal Heart, all of whom were nominated for an Oscar this past?year.

Following the Academy?s decision earlier this year to split the combined Outstanding Miniseries and Movie category back into separate categories, this year?s nominees included the star-studded Miniseries American Horror Story: Coven, Bonnie & Clyde, Fargo, Luther, Treme and The White Queen while
Outstanding Television Movie saw nominations for Killing Kennedy, Muhammad Ali?s Greatest Fight, The Normal Heart, Sherlock: His Last Vow (Masterpiece) and The Trip To Bountiful.

Also, for the first year the Outstanding Reality Program has been split in two to include Outstanding Structured Reality Program with this year?s nominees being Antiques Roadshow, Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives, MythBusters, Shark Tank, Undercover Boss and Who Do You Think You Are? While Outstanding Unstructured Reality Program nominees include Alaska: The Last Frontier, Deadliest Catch, Flipping Out, Million Dollar Listing New York, Wahlburgers and Wild Things with Dominic Monaghan.

In Outstanding Reality-Competition Series, the nominees include fan-favorite shows The Amazing Race, Dancing With The Stars, Project Runway, So You Think You Can Dance, Top Chef and The Voice. Along with this, Outstanding Reality Host nominees include Tom Bergeron for Dancing With The Stars,
Anthony Bourdain for The Taste, Cat Deeley for So You Think You Can Dance, Heidi Klum and Tim Gunn for Project Runway, Jane Lynch for Hollywood Game Night and Betty White for Betty White?s Off Their Rocker.

Additional awards may also be given for the three “juried areas” (no nominations): Creative Achievement in Interactive Media, Costumes for a Variety or Music Program and Individual Achievement in Animation. Additional awards may also be given for Engineering Development (announced in August) and the?Governors Award (announced later this month).

Nomination rosters will be finalized during the period July 10 to July 24, 2014. The rosters may be revised in cases where names or titles are incorrect, or appeals for changes?including the addition or removal of names?are approved by the Primetime Awards Committee. Producer eligibility is based on?primarily on title. The nominees in the program categories will be announced later this month.

The complete list of Emmy nominations, media credential applications, and other Academy news is available at Emmys.com

The 66th Emmy Awards telecast airs live coast-to-coast on Monday, August 25th (8:00 PM ET /5:00 PM PT) on NBC from the Nokia Theater L.A. LIVE in Los Angeles.

For the full list of nominations?CLICK HERE?