Home / FEATURED / Academy of Television Arts & Sciences 64th Primetime Emmy Award Nominations

Academy of Television Arts & Sciences 64th Primetime Emmy Award Nominations

?Emmys Press Release – Thursday, July 19 ? Nominations for the 64th Primetime Emmy? Awards, covering the eligibility period of June 1, 2011 through May 31, 2012, were announced today by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences from the Leonard H. Goldenson Theatre in the NoHo Arts District, California. Television Academy Chairman and CEO Bruce Rosenblum presided over the nominations along with Kerry Washington from the ABC drama Scandal, and Jimmy Kimmel, host of ABC?s late night show Jimmy Kimmel Live and this year?s Emmy? Awards telecast.

Three of the 12 nominees for Outstanding Comedy and Drama Series are first-time nominees. This includes Girls and Veep in the comedy category and Homeland in drama, with Downton Abbey also receiving a nomination for the first time since switching to the drama series category. Additional first-time series nominees in various program categories include Jimmy Kimmel Live, Shark Tank, Who Do You Think You Are? and The Voice.

Programs receiving 10 or more nominations are American Horror Story (17), Mad Men (17), Downton Abbey (16), Hatfields & McCoys (16), Hemingway & Gellhorn (15), Modern Family (14), Saturday Night Live (14), Breaking Bad (13), Sherlock: A Scandal in Belgravia (Masterpiece) (13), 30 Rock (13), Boardwalk Empire (12), Game Change (12) and Game Of Thrones (11).
This year?s Outstanding Comedy Series performer categories feature a mix of familiar and new faces along with nominees for the first time in particular comedy roles or categories. These ?first-timers? include: (leads) Lena Dunham in Girls, Zooey Deschanel in New Girl, Julia Louis-Dreyfus in Veep, Don Cheadle in House of Lies and Jon Cryer in Two and a Half Men; (supporting performers) Mayim Bialik in The Big Bang Theory, Merritt Wever in Nurse Jackie, Max Greenfield in New Girl and Bill Hader in Saturday Night Live.

Similar to the comedy categories, the Outstanding Drama series performer categories are comprised of many newnominees for the roles they portray, including: (leads) Michelle Dockery and Hugh Bonneville in Downton Abbey, and Claire Danes and Damian Lewis in Homeland; (supporting performers) Anna Gunn and Giancarlo Esposito in Breaking Bad, Joanne Froggatt, Brendan Coyle and Jim Carter in Downton Abbey, and Jared Harris in Mad Men.

This year?s nominations also featured several individuals who received multiple category nominations for their work. They include a historic seven nominations for Louis C.K. for Louie (Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series, Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series, Outstanding Directing for a Comedy Series) as well as Louis C.K. Live at the Beacon Theatre (Outstanding Special Class Program, Outstanding Directing in a Variety Special, Outstanding Writing in a Variety Special, and Outstanding Editing for Short-form Segments and Variety Specials). In addition, Lena Dunham received four nominations for Girls (Outstanding Comedy Series, Lead Actress in a Comedy Series, Writing for a Comedy Series and Directing for a Comedy Series); Amy Poehler received two nominations for her leading comedy role and writing for Parks and Recreation; Ryan Seacrest was nominated for hosting American Idol and also for producing Jamie Oliver?s Food Revolution; and, Michael J. Fox received two nominations for his guest roles in The Good Wife and Curb Your Enthusiasm.

First-time nominees in Lead Performance categories for Miniseries or a Movie include Julianne Moore in Game Change, Nicole Kidman and Clive Owen in Hemingway & Gellhorn, Kevin Costner and Bill Paxton in Hatfields & McCoys and Benedict Cumberbatch in Sherlock: A Scandal in Belgravia (Masterpiece). Additional first-time nominees in Supporting Performance categories for Miniseries or a Movie include Sarah Paulson in Game Change, Denis O?Hare in American Horror Story and Martin Freeman in Sherlock: A Scandal in Belgravia (Masterpiece).
A total of 518 separate nominations in categories and areas, compiled by the independent accounting firm of Ernst & Young LLP, were distributed as follows:
A&E ? 4 IFC ? 2
ABC ? 48 jaylenosgarage.com ? 1
AMC ? 34 Lifetime ? 5
Animal Planet ? 1 lstudio.com ? 1
BBC America ? 5 MTV ? 1
Bravo ? 5 NBC ? 51
bravotv.com ? 2 nbc.com ? 3
Cartoon Network ? 6 Nickelodeon ? 5
CBS ? 60 PBS ? 58
Cinemax ? 1 rides.tv ?1
Comedy Central ? 11 Showtime ? 22
dga.org ?1 Starz ? 1
DirecTV ? 1 Syfy ?2
Discovery Channel ? 9 TBS ? 1
Disney Channel ? 4 TeenNick ? 1
Disney XD ? 1 thedailyshow.com ? 1
EPIX ? 1 TLC ? 1
FOX ? 26 TNT ? 3
FX Networks ? 26 Travel Channel ? 4
GMC ? 1 TV Land ? 2
HBO ? 81 USA ? 1
HISTORY ? 17 whatstrending.com ? 1
Commercials ? 5 (no network affiliation)

Red Carpet arrivals and ceremonies for the 64th Primetime Emmy Awards will air live from the NOKIA Theatre L.A. LIVE on Sunday, September 23rd at 7pm EDT/4pm PDT on the ABC Network. This year?s telecast will be executive produced by Don Mischer and will be hosted by Jimmy Kimmel. The Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards will be executive produced by Spike Jones, Jr. and take place on Saturday, September 15th. Yet to be announced this year are the Governors Award, juried awards that may be given at the judges? discretion (Costumes for a Variety Program or a Special and Individual Achievement in Animation), as well as Engineering Awards which will be awarded in October.

Nomination rosters will be finalized during the period July 19 to August 2, 2012. The rosters may be revised in cases where names or titles are incorrect, or appeals for changes?including the addition or removal of names?are approved by the Primetime Awards Committee. Producer eligibility is based on both title and function. A review of title and function will be conducted by the Producers Peer Group, and the nominees in the program categories will be announced late-July.

The complete list of Primetime Emmy nominations, Media Credentials, and other Academy news is available at www.emmys.com.

During the Sunday, September 23 telecast, emmys.com is also hosting the companion streaming program, Backstage Live, beginning at 7pm EDT/4pm PDT, and presented by Audi.

Video streaming by Ustream