Home / MUSIC / “2011 American Music Awards” Nominees Announced

“2011 American Music Awards” Nominees Announced

Adele Leads 2011 Nominees

Nominees Katy Perry and Pitbull Confirmed to Perform

Winners Determined by Online Voting at amavote.com

Sprint Will Present New Artist of the Year Award

LOS ANGELES, Oct. 11, 2011 /PRNewswire/ — Recording artists Nicki Minaj and Pitbull revealed the “2011 American Music Awards?” (AMAs) nominees this morning from the J.W. Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE (see full list of nominees below). Katy Perry and Pitbull were announced as performers for the 39th annual AMAs. Additional acts and presenters will be announced in the coming weeks.

The show will be broadcast live from the NOKIA Theatre L.A. LIVE on SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 20th (8:00-11:00 p.m. ET/PT) on ABC. ?Tickets are now on sale (please visit www.ticketmaster.com or call 1-877-234-8425.). This year, ABC will air a live pre-show “Countdown to The American Music Awards” starting at 7:00pm ET/PT. In addition, the online pre-show “Coca-Cola Red Carpet LIVE! @ the 2011 AMAs” hosted by Lance Bass, Michael Buckley, Estelle, Sarah Hyland, Mitchel Musso, Josh Sussman and Xzibit will stream live for fans worldwide starting at 2pm PT / 5pm ET.

Adele leads this year with four (4) nominations. Katy Perry, Lady Gaga, Lil Wayne, Rihanna, Taylor Swift and The Band Perry follow with three (3) nominations each, and Beyonce, Bruno Mars, Chris Brown, Jason Aldean, Kanye West, LMFAO, Nicki Minaj and Pitbull collected two (2) nominations respectively. ?This year’s 2011 Artist of the Year nominees are: Adele, Katy Perry, Lady Gaga, Lil Wayne and Taylor Swift.

For the fifth year, winners will be determined by online voting. Fans can vote at the Coca-Cola AMA voting website, amavote.com, as well as AMA.abc.com. Artists will be honored in the categories of Pop/Rock, Country, Rap/Hip-Hop, Soul/R&B, Alternative, Adult Contemporary, Latin, and Contemporary Inspirational. ?Fans can go to the official homepage of the “2011 American Music Awards,” ama.abc.com, to find performer and presenter announcements, artist information, and more.

Orly Adelson, executive producer of the show and Larry Klein, AMA producer jointly stated, “The highly talented group that makes up this year’s 2011 AMA nominees have dominated the charts, airwaves and pop culture all year long. We are excited to congratulate and celebrate all of the artists on American music’s biggest night.”

In addition, music fans will be able to vote for the Sprint New Artist of the Year Award. For the first round of voting beginning Tuesday, October 11 through Friday, October 21 at 9:00 p.m., ET, fans will be able to determine who will make up the final award nominees by voting via text message from the list of artists available online at ama.abc.com or using their mobile phones at amanewartistoftheyear.com Music fans will be able to vote an unlimited number of times on all available platforms for the Sprint New Artist of the Year Award. All fans can send a text message by using 22288 and the number corresponding to their favorite artist. In addition, votes can also be cast via the internet at ama.abc.com. Standard messaging and data rates will apply. The top four artists with the highest votes from the first round of voting will be the final award nominees of the Sprint New Artist of the Year Award. Voting for the award winner will begin October 24 and conclude during the American Music Awards on November 20 at 9:00 p.m., ET.

Here are the Nominees

Pop/Rock Male: Justin Bieber, Bruno Mars, Pitbull

Pop Rock Female: Adele, Katy Perry, Lady Gaga

Pop Rock Group: LMFAO, Maroon 5, One Republic

Rap/Hip Hop: Lil Wayne, Nicki Minaj, Kanye West

Rap/Hip Hop Album: Carter 4, Watch The Throne, Pink Friday

Soul/R&B Male: Chris Brown, Trey Songz, Usher

Soul/R&B Female: Rihanna, Beyonce, Kelly Rowland

Pop Rock Album: Adele 21, Rihanna Loud, Lady Gaga Born This Way

Soul/R&B Album: Chris Brown FAME, Rihanna LOUD, Beyonce 4

Latin: Pitbull, Jennifer Lopez, Enrigue Iglesias

Best New Artist: Miguel, Wiz Khalifa, The Band Perry, Marsha Ambrosius, Foster The People, Hot Chelle Rae, LMFAO, Thompson Square

Artists of The Year: Adele, Lady Gaga, Katy Perry, Lil Wayne, Taylor Swift