Home / CULTURE / Aid For AIDS announces the 2012 Best In Drag Show? Contestants

Aid For AIDS announces the 2012 Best In Drag Show? Contestants

Aid For AIDS in California announces the 2012 Best In Drag Show? Contestants as the legendary fundraiser celebrates its 10th anniversary with the highly-anticipated return of Patrick Rush as host of the show.

LOS ANGELES, May 30, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ — “Best In Drag Show?,” the outrageous and long-running annual fundraiser for Aid For AIDS, will be celebrating its 10th Anniversary and matures in its sophomore year under new direction. This highly anticipated annual event will be held on October 7, 2012 at The Orpheum Theatre in downtown Los Angeles.

Jeffrey Drew, long-time lead star throughout the history of “Best In Drag Show?,” was once again selected to direct, choreograph and helm the 2012 10th Anniversary Best In Drag Show? production.

“We are thrilled and delighted that Jeffrey, Patrick and the cast and crew of the ‘Best in Drag Show?’ are combining their talents to make this 10th Anniversary an unforgettable event,” says Terry Goddard II, Executive Director of Alliance for Housing and Healing, the umbrella organization of Aid for AIDS.

After the success of the 2011 revitalization of this event, Show Director Jeffrey Drew said, “Faster, Funnier, Louder! We are putting the FUN back in fundraiser!” After a two-year hiatus, event-founding community member Patrick Rush will return once again to host the show, both by popular demand and in honor of the event’s 10 year anniversary. Mr. Rush led one of the show’s most unforgettable moments as he granted the final wish of Alexis Pittman founder and creator of this remarkable event.

A significant interest was renewed last year as was evidenced by the number of Best In Drag Show? hopefuls who submitted their character and talents during this year’s auditions, held just last month. The 2012 finalists consist of Carlos Martinez- Miss California- Fruta Fresca, Lawrence Lucero- Miss Hawaii- Tiny Bubbles, Matthew James Carlin- Miss Louisiana- Miss Clawdette, Keith Lamont- Miss Massachusetts- Anna Robix, Christian Satrustegui- Miss Washington- Tipsy Rose Lee and Victor Montoya- Miss Indiana- LaFonda Jackson, who will be competing in her second year for the crown.

The spoof is in its 22nd year overall, as it originally ran for 11 years as “Battle for the Tiara.”, for which a documentary of the same name was released in festivals throughout the world back in 1998. “Battle” as it was appropriately nicknamed, was also voted audience favorite at Outfest that same year!

Drew says, “I am grateful for the outpouring of love and support but our work is not over! People still need our help. With the government slashing AIDS funding, we ALL need to do our part!”

For more information about Aid For AIDS, visit www.aidforaids.net.

Follow show/ticket announcements on Facebook at “Best In Drag Show, Aid For AIDS” and by visiting the event website at

Source: PR Newswire (http://s.tt/1d14G)